Sculpting

-Unrelated news-

I’ve got some books from the library about sculpting. Couldn’t find anything on the casting process, shocking. Found on youtube a couple of people sculpting and looked at The Joint. Before I gotten Mori’s head, I was so excited learning about ball jointed dolls that I thought it wasn’t so hard to do. (Think again) Before DOA removed the Artist’s section for those that tried making their own dolls, I saw a few that were lovely.

And so carefully looked around who would be a good model and then I found Kim Jae Wook, an actor, with great amazing cheekbones. I made the head but never managed to complete it because I got Mori.

I compared the two and…woah, huge difference, I made the head too big >_< so I took a break from sculpting. Now, I’m going to start over, rework the clay, thank goodness it wasn’t air dry.

But I still have a few questions when it comes to making the head (even if it is in the library book I checked out. I’m still not sure if I’m missing a hidden step or not), like:

  • how do you cast?
    • Will I need more clay for that?
    • What else do I need?
    • Can I get it at Michaels? Or at a hardware store?
    • Is there a cheaper, easier, diy way to go about this?
  • how do you get the inside hollow? (I want to know your technique)
  • would porcelain clay work better and how does that work?
  • Places I could buy resin?
  • How to use the same mold to make many casts? (Am I using these words right?)
    • Do I need something to release the mold? Like I read that I needed a good layer of soapy water between the mold and the clay/resin so it doesn’t stick together
      • And is there something else I could use?

I’ve recently just started watching this show called Face Off on Syfy and it’s a contest for special effects make-up artists that create faces on top of faces basically. Those guys are using a lot of sculpting and casting, so I wish to ask them how to do it >.< or at least come to my place so they could do it for me, ha. Maybe I could ask an art teacher in college if they do that or have one of those kilns or if my oven is just fine.

  1. Casting is a very finicky process XD It depends what the purpose of your cast is. Do you wish only to make one copy? Do you want to make many?

    Casting requires the creation of a mold. You make the mold, then pour the resin into it, let it cure, and remove the finished product from the mold. Hmm..your materials will depend on which type of mold you decide to create. There are silicone, plaster, concrete, etc… all with different methods and materials. You proooobably cannot get the items at Michael’s, but that may be my coloured opinion, as our michael’s here is pretty useless XD;. I am not sure about the hardware store.

    As for cheaper ways to make molds, I do know that you can use lego to build your mold casing [the thing that holds it all together so that the liquid doesn’t pour everywhere while your mold is setting]. Definitely depends on your method of casting.

    I’m not sure if you’d need porcelain clay..I don’t know if that requires firing and a kiln;; But as porcelain is very fragile, I’d imagine it isn’t strong enough for your purposes. :/

    I don’t know about you, but I can buy resin at my local Curry’s art store. Check your local stores. Maybe Michael’s will have it O_o but I do recommend shopping online too to see the prices that you may be able to get it for. Be aware, resin is CLEAR. You will need to add colouring to achieve the normal bjd look.

    If you want a durable mold, you will have to choose a method that creates a mold that is not prone to shrinkage or tearing / breaking. Agar based molds are definitely not for you! You can use the same mold to make many casts [that’s the point XD]. I don’t know if silicone will work for longterm casting. Each method of mold making does have a certain lifespan.

    Hmm..I wouldn’t recommend soapy water as a mold-release. The bubbles can affect the final cast and then you’d just have the shapes of bubbles everywhere. There are products you can buy for that. :)If you are casting resin, as you know, oil is a bad thing. Maybe you could look for a ‘dry’ mold release, one that doesn’t involve any secretions or oily liquid.

    There are many different types of molds, all requiring different materials and such. I highly recommend you head over to THE JOINT.—> http://bjdartists.com/joints/ There are tons of references and helpful people here who have made their own dolls and are quite experienced. They also have answers to many of your questions here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

